Bear Martial Arts

Kung Fu (General)


Kung Fu (also known as Wushu) is a Chinese martial art which has many different styles taught around the world. Some of these styles are based on animal movements, i.e. Crane, Tiger, Snake, Praying Mantis, Monkey. All styles teach striking, blocking, grappling, and locking as part of their training. Form is also a part of training (what the Japanese martial arts would call "kata"). Some styles and instructors also teach Chinese philosophy and culture in their schools, and in some cases even Chinese medicine is taught.

A lot of Kung Fu schools will also incorporate sparring (called dui da, 對打), using it as an important method of improving strength, application of techniques and general awareness in a combat situation. 

The word "Wushu" translates into English as literally "martial art".



In legend Kung Fu began over 4,000 years ago, but it's first reference in Chinese texts is in 5th century BC.

Shaolin monks have been practicing the art since 728 AD, and still do so to this day. For the monks Wushu is part of their daily lives, and has been for over 1000 years. 


Weapons training (qìxiè 器械) is common place in most Kung Fu schools, and a whole range of weapons are used, both offensively and defensively. Some of the key weapons are:

  • Sai
  • 2 piece staff
  • Chinese straight sword
  • Staff
  • Tai Chi Sword
  • Chinese Spear



  • Next to Ju Jitsu, Kung Fu is the martial art used most by Neo in The Matrix movies
  • Bruce Lee developed his own style of Kung Fu, known as Jeet Kune Do
  • Jet Li was five-time Wushu champion of China before embarking on a film career

For more information please see:

Author: The Bear Martial Arts Team

Powered by Conceptulise CMS